Super Bowl 2015 – DUI Laws in Arizona
Super Bowl XLIX (49) is slated to take place in the Phoenix, Arizona area next year. It is scheduled to kick off on February 1, 2015 to be exact. No doubt, the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona will be a packed house and there will be plenty of tailgating parties on that day. With that being said, it is important to know the DUI laws in Arizona if you plan on attending the big game!
DUI in Arizona is a serious criminal offense and if you are charged with the crime, you are probably right to be worried about the consequences it brings. It is absolutely important to find the best possible criminal attorney in Arizona who can defend you to the best of their ability. The Law Offices of David Michael Cantor and his team of DUI defense lawyers are highly skilled and possess all the necessary tools toward preparing an excellent defense for your case in the state of Arizona.
Penalty for Misdemeanor DUI
In the state of Arizona, there are varying levels of a DUI or driving under the influence charge. The legal blood alcohol content level is 0.08. However, it is considered a misdemeanor if you are pulled over and found to have a BAC of between 0.08 and .149. This will ensure that you spend 10 days in jail and that your driver’s license is suspended for 90 days. In addition, you will require an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for one year and alcohol screening and classes are a requirement. You can also expect to receive fines of more than $1,500.
Penalty for Extreme DUI
An extreme DUI can be charged when the individual has a blood alcohol content of 0.15 to .199. With such a charge, you can spend up to 30 days in jail, have your license suspended for a duration of 90 days and have an ignition interlock device placed on your vehicle for up to one year. In addition, you will be ordered to undergo alcohol screening, attend classes and will receive finds of over $3,200.
Penalty for Aggravated DUI
A first offense aggravated DUI occurs when you have your third DUI charge in seven years or are picked up for a DUI while your license is suspended or if you have a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle with you.
If you are found guilty and convicted of a felony for a DUI, this is a very serious charge. You will lose your basic civil rights, including the right to vote and to own a gun and will receive four months of prison time. You can also expect your driver’s license to be revoked, an interlock ignition device to be placed on your vehicle and alcohol assessment and classes to be ordered.
It is important to note that DUI laws are all the same in the Phoenix metro area that makes up Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale, Tempe, Glendale, Peoria, Gilbert and Chandler.
Defenses for a DUI in Arizona include no probable cause for arrest, inaccuracy of blood or breath testing, no actual physical control of the vehicle, no reasonable suspicion to stop and denial of right to counsel. A savvy defense attorney will defend you to the best of their ability to get the charges minimized or even dropped.
This article was provided by the Arizona Criminal Defense Law firm of the Law Offices of David Michael Cantor. David Michael Cantor is a well respected Phoenix DUI Lawyer who has documented over 2,000 criminal case victories, for more information view his site: http://dmcantor.com